New Delhi, 22.07.2020

The District & Sessions Judge, Mathura (Uttar Pradesh) has today sentenced 11 then Police officials of Rajasthan Government namely S/Sh. Kan Singh Bhati, then CO/Dy.SP; Virender Singh, then SHO, Thana Deeg Bharatpur; Sukhram, then Constable; Jeevan Singh, then Head Constable, RAC; Jagmohan, then Constable, RAC; Bhawar Singh, then Head Constable, RAC; Hari Singh, then Constable, RAC; Sher Singh, then Constable, RAC; Chattar Singh, then Constable, RAC; Padma Ram, then Constable, RAC and Ravi Shekhar Mishra, then Inspector, all to undergo Life Imprisonment in a case related to death of Raja Man Singh and his associates.

CBI had registered the case on 01.03.1985, U/s 147, 148, 302, 323 of IPC r/w Section 149 of IPC, 193 and 218 of IPC on the request of Rajasthan Government & further notification from Govt of India and taken over the investigation of the FIR, earlier registered at Police Station Deeg (Rajasthan) on a complaint of son-in-law of deceased Raja Man Singh. It was alleged that two FIRs were registered at Deeg Police Station against Raja Man Singh and others on the allegations of damaging the stage from where the then CM of Rajasthan was to address election meeting and the helicopter through which then CM arrived at Deeg. On 21.02.1985, Shri Kan Singh Bhati, Dy. SP of Rajasthan Police, Shri Virender Singh, SHO alongwith their team went to arrest Raja Man Singh and his associates in the said two cases. It was further alleged that after reaching at site where Raja Man Singh was present with his associates, Shri Kan Singh Bhati fired without any reason at Raja Man Singh and also ordered other Police Officials to open fire. In this encounter, Raja Man Singh, Thakur Hari Singh and Thakur Sumer Singh were killed.

After thorough investigation, CBI filed chargesheet on 18.07.1985 against 18 accused in the Court of Special Judicial Magistrate, Jaipur.

A court of Additional Sessions Judge was also created at Jaipur for the early disposal of this case in January 1988. Further, the complainant of the case moved an application in the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India for the transfer of the case from the Court of Additional Sessions Judge, Jaipur to any Court outside the state of Rajasthan. The Hon’ble Supreme Court allowed the transfer Petition in December, 1989 and transferred the case from the Court of Additional Sessions Judge, Jaipur to the Court of District & Sessions Judge, Mathura (U.P.) for its expeditious trial and thus, the trial of this case started in January, 1990 in the Court of District & Sessions Judge, Mathura.

The charges were framed on 30.04.1990 against the 16 accused as one accused was discharged and one died in June, 1989. Two more accused also died in October, 2011 and December, 2006 respectively.

The Trial Court found 11 accused guilty and convicted them on 21.07.2020. Three accused were discharged by the Court.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button